Washington, D.C., Puerto Rico and Three More States Added to New York Travel Advisory and Quarantine Order

Dear Members of the Syracuse University Community:

Earlier today, the State of New York announced the addition of three states, Illinois, Kentucky and Minnesota, as well as Washington, D.C. and Puerto Rico, to the New York State Department of Health’s existing travel advisory and quarantine order.

Today’s announcement expands the list of travel advisory states to 34, increasing the number of Syracuse University students who must quarantine for 14 days in New York State (or in another non-travel advisory state) prior to the start of the semester. We anticipate this list to continue to evolve as COVID-19 cases spike in various regions.

This latest news is yet another reminder of the fluid and rapidly changing circumstances the global pandemic is creating. We are working quickly to determine how many students are impacted and how the University may be able to support them in achieving the quarantine requirement.

We are sensitive to the enormous stress and anxiety caused by the ever-shifting circumstances. We hope to have more information to share with you, and more specifically, the students and families from the states added to the travel advisory, as soon as possible.

As a reminder, please be sure to visit Syracuse.edu/fall2020 for the latest on our planning efforts.


J. Michael Haynie
Vice Chancellor for Strategic Initiatives and Innovation

Amanda Nicholson
Interim Deputy Senior Vice President, Division of Enrollment and the Student Experience