Fair Labor Standards Act Overview

The Fair Labor Standards Act (FLSA) is a federal law enacted in 1938 that created minimum wage, overtime (time and one-half the regular rate of pay for hours worked in excess of 40 hours in a workweek), recordkeeping, and placed restrictions on child labor.

Generally, the law defines four categories of jobs for which it is permissible to pay a salary irrespective of the hours worked.  These jobs that are “exempt” from overtime provisions of the law are categorized as executive, administrative, professional, and computer-related. Despite the broad labels, the criteria for jobs fitting into each category is complex and narrower than the names suggest.  Non-exempt jobs are those jobs that are subject to the FLSA and its overtime provisions.

Syracuse University is committed to our employees and providing an exceptional work environment. We have worked diligently to manage the process on behalf of our staff in a fair and fiscally responsible manner.

If you have any questions about the FLSA and its impact on you, feel free to call the Office of Human Resources.

Main Office

Office of Human Resources
Skytop Office Building
Suite 101
Skytop Road
Syracuse, NY 13244-5300
315.443.4042 (press 1)
email hrservice@syr.edu