10 States Added to New York Travel Advisory and Quarantine Order

Dear Members of the Syracuse University Community:

A short time ago, the State of New York announced the addition of 10 states to the New York State Department of Health’s existing travel advisory and quarantine order.

Specifically, the states added to the travel advisory today include Alaska, Delaware, Indiana, Maryland, Missouri, Montana, North Dakota, Nebraska, Virginia and Washington; one state (Minnesota) was removed from the list. This is in addition to the states already included in the order: Alabama, Arkansas, Arizona, California, Florida, Georgia, Iowa, Idaho, Kansas, Louisiana, Mississippi, New Mexico, North Carolina, Nevada, Ohio, Oklahoma, South Carolina, Tennessee, Texas, Utah and Wisconsin.

Today’s announcement expands the list of travel advisory states to 31 and significantly expands the number of Syracuse University students who—as a requirement of the New York State Department of Health—must quarantine for 14 days in New York State (or in another non-travel advisory state) prior to the start of the semester.

As we have said previously, we expect this list to continue to evolve in the weeks to come. We recognize that for our students and their families in these newly added states, planning for the return to campus just became significantly more challenging. Please know that we continue to engage with New York officials—alongside many of our peer colleges and universities statewide—to advocate for safe alternatives to the existing 14-day self-quarantine requirement.

We will share more detailed information on quarantine options for this expanded population of impacted students as soon as possible. In the meantime, Syracuse University will continue to do everything it can to support the safe return of all our students to campus. We remain chiefly focused on safeguarding the health and safety of our students, faculty, staff and our neighbors throughout the Central New York region.

J. Michael Haynie
Vice Chancellor for Strategic Initiatives and Innovation

Amanda Nicholson
Interim Deputy Senior Vice President